Where does Security 4.0 come from?

Every industry goes through natural technology cycles of evolution and sometimes revolution. Each cycle can be defined by the introduction of disruptive technology that causes a fundamental advancement in the industry. Take the music industry for example – it has gone through seven technology cycles. First there was live music, then records, 8- Track tapes, cassettes, CDs, MP3s/IPods, now streaming music. In each cycle new technology replaced old technology with its superior features, benefits and opportunities. We generally move to the next technological generation when the cost and benefits outweigh the current technology. The physical security industry is no different. It has gone through three technology cycles and we are now at the fourth technology cycle which we call Security 4.0. Take a walk through history with us below to see how we got here. Then learn more about the Six Key Elements that are the foundation of
Security 4.0.

The Fourth Technology Cycle is Here. Are You?

We're Leading the Evolution of Security.


  • Mainframe / No Network
  • Mainframes
  • Mag Stripe
  • DOS / Basic / Programs
  • Proprietary HW
  • Data
  • VCR


Since the 70’s we have seen three generations of disruptive technology cycles.


  • Client-Server / Ethernet
  • Servers
  • Wiegand
  • Windows / C / Applications
  • Proprietary HW
  • Data / Reporting
  • DVR


Roughly every 15 years new disruptive technology eclipses and replaces old technology.


  • Data Center / Internet
  • PCs / Laptops
  • Prox / Biometric
  • Windows / .NET / Suites
  • Proprietary / Open HW
  • Information / Analytics
  • NVR


Three generations have come and gone and we are now at the dawn of the 4th technology cycle.


  • Cloud / Wireless
  • Mobile Devices
  • Multi-Factor Biometrics
  • Browser / Web / Unified
  • Open
  • Smart Systems
  • Video-as-a-Service


Security 4.0 disruptive technologies will dramatically shape the security landscape over the next 15 years.

Explore the Six Key Elements of Security 4.0


The Six Key Elements are the natural progression of core technology in Physical Security and form the foundation of Security 4.0 architecture. Each of the Six Key Elements has a set of fundamental benefits over current technology. These disruptive technologies are at the heart of BluBØX’s next-generation products and services and will shape the security industry for the next 15 years. Select each of the key elements to learn more.

Upgrade to Security 4.0